Type 1 - Connect

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Freestyle Libre

• 1.  Freestyle Libre

Posted 16-05-2020 16:21
    ​I would like some feedback from people who use the Freestyle Libre to monitor their BGL. I have recently started to use the Freestyle Libre. The first sensor I placed worked well but when I put on the second sensor it wouldn't give me a result for about 6 hours after which it worked fine but after only 5 days my reader told me my sensor was defective and needed replacing. Has anyone had similar problems? At $92.00 for each sensor I don't expect them to fail and have to replace them.

------------------------------
    John G

• 2.  RE: Freestyle Libre

Posted 16-05-2020 18:58
    Hi John
    I use the Freestyle Libre Flash glucose monitor - the "white button" that attaches to the back of the upper arm. I have been using it on and off for a couple of years - mostly if I was travelling or out of my normal routine. Mainly because of the cost - $90 and they only last 14 days. In March they were added to the subsidised list of diabetes technology aids. If you meet the government's criteria - incl being Type 1 and having a concession card etc - they are free and obtained through orders you place with participating pharmacies. The NDSS site has the information on eligibility and the form to be completed for approval for the subsidised scheme. This has to be signed by your GP (or your endo I assume , if you have one). The NDSS site has info on how it all works. It is NOT done directly through Abbott. You have to be an NDSS member to get the subsidy.